And now for Superhero Wednesday!

Well, today went a little better than yesterday.  We had a bit of a sleep in which I think we all needed and after getting our workbook pages done, it was finally time to check on our snow globes.  If we were to do this project again, I would need to remember that we have to keep the lid in mind.  We could have filled the jar with more baby oil and left a smaller bubble at the top.

Here they are!  Captain America and Falcon in their snow globes.  See how we really could have filled them more?  I was worried more about how much displacement would occur with the superheroes going in but forgot to think bout how much would go into the lid.

img_1511-1

Of course they were still fun to shake!  And using oil instead of water means the glitter settles slower.  You can’t even see our heroes for all the glitter!

img_1512-1

We played with those for a while and then they had some superhero jumping practice  while I got things ready for the obstacle course.  I just grabbed some yarn from my stash and some packing tape and went to work.  If I were to do it again, I would take a little more time and space things out a little more.  Overall, it didn’t turn out too bad and I didn’t want it to be too easy.

img_1513-1

Next time I would also be sure to tape some down to the floor as the first thing they did was to crawl under the whole thing.

img_1514-1

I laughed and encouraged them to not just crawl under it, but to try to figure a way through it.  The Small Blonde took to the task immediately while the Smallest Blonde decided that he was perfectly content crawling underneath.

img_1515-1

It kept them busy until it was almost time for lunch.  Then we got our exercises in and again it was time for a Superhero nap.  Small Blonde had free time to use for reading today, although he really needed to spend some more time cleaning his room.  You see, he is missing the squares he needs to put his Perler beads on.  Even though he looked high and low yesterday (he says) he still wasn’t able to locate them.  I took a look myself and couldn’t seem to locate them either.  They have to be in there somewhere….I guess we will have to see what tomorrow brings.

They are still loving their superhero capes but we did have one little snafu with those.  Somehow we managed to misplace the one for Smallest Blonde so tonight we will be making him a replacement.  I thought we had looked everywhere, but I guess not since we haven’t found it.  Tonight I will make him a new one and we can get on with the business of making our logos and finish up earning our helpful badges.   Maybe even finally get our masks made.

One thing is for certain.  I have learned a lot this week and I consider it my practice run. I think both boys have had fun so far, but I had higher hopes for myself in terms of what we could accomplish.  That’s okay though.  It’s accomplishing what it needs to.  The boys are not squabbling as much and that makes the days easier for everyone.  On the plus side, they are working together on some things and that is fun to watch.  I think my ultimate goal of us getting to be closer as a family is something that is attainable.

This entry was posted in Summer Camp for the Kids, Superhero Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

