I’m about to become “that” Mom.

I’ve left this blog alone for quite a while.  It’s not really been forgotten, but I haven’t made any time for it either.  No excuses.  It’s past time that I made an effort to come back here.

To that end, I thought I would share my adventures as I stray into the realm of overachiever moms thanks to the internet and Pinterest.  I’m sure you know what I mean.

Summer is rapidly approaching and that means no school.  No school means that both boys will be home and they can’t go more than 10 minutes without some kind of screaming or fighting or having some sort of altercation.  I’ll bet you can guess that I’m a little less than thrilled at the prospect of going through that all day long.  Last year I tried sign up the older one for lots of summer camps so that he would have something to do and cut down on the fighting while also saving my sanity.

This year I’ve got the older one signed up for a couple of things, but multiple summer camps really add up.  So, I got a crazy idea.  Why can’t I make up some summer camps at home?  We could have a theme for each week and do some planned activities every day and maybe I could save on restocking the liquor cabinet and help these brothers learn how to get along a little better.

I’ve had a lot of help from Pinterest.  It’s truly amazing the things that you can find there.

There are some things that I want to incorporate every day: a couple of workbook pages (so we can stay fresh on the things we learned in school and to prepare for next year), exercise (especially if we need to get some craziness out), some quiet time (because everyone, especially mom, needs a little bit of that), time for chores (both theirs and help with things around the house), and time doing things in the kitchen (helping with lunch, or making snacks or helping with dinner).  Truthfully, I’m not sure if I’ll be able to make sure to include all of that, but I’m certainly going to try my best.  My number one rule for myself is to remain flexible because I’m sure some activities will go well and some will not. I will just have to see how it goes.

Thankfully, we have one more week of school because I am still in the planning stage.  So far I have plans for a Superhero Week, Dinosaur Week, Circus Week, Disney Week, Pokemon Week, Gamer Week, Space Week, and I’m still looking into some more ideas.  Like Animal Week and Ocean Week.

I’m also planning on starting off each week with a trip to our local library where we can get some books regarding our topic for the week and ending each week with a nature walk or trip to our local zoo or museum.

Over the weekend I told the boys about this crazy idea of mine.  They both seemed fairly excited, although I’m not sure that the younger one really knew what I was talking about.  I’m sure when we get started he will be excited to play along.

First up is our Super Hero week which will culminate with a trip to our local ComiCon.  I’ve got my list planned out and I started my list of things I need to pick up (hopefully at the Dollar Store).  I think with a little tweaking I will be completely ready.  The key for me is flexibility.  I hope I can keep that in perspective.  Wish me luck!  And stay tuned, before our first week of Summer Camp at Home begins, I’ll be sure to share what my final itinerary will be for the week and a review on how well that boys and I handle it.  I’m really optimistic that this will be a good thing for all of us.

This entry was posted in Summer Camp for the Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

