Blech.

One would think that since spring is arriving that the time for being sick would be over. One would be wrong. Especially if that one had children. They are such magnets for germs. Suffice to say that some intestinal something found its way to our home and took turns with each of us at least once and one of us twice and I am not sorry to wave goodbye. I know, that’s the chance you take when you have children and this is not a blog about said children. It’s more for saving what little sanity I have left.

I would love to say that I really kept on track. I will be honest though and say I completely fell off the wagon. Completely. Not so badly that I need to go back to square one. I’m happy to say that I think 20 minutes or less will see our living room back into shape. The dining room table however is almost completely covered again.

And I have been horrible about getting my 15 minutes of exercise in.

And I feel horrible about that. Really I feel horrible about all of it and I’m really wishing that I could find a magic wand to wave it all away. Now I just need to get myself motivated to get off the couch to get it done again.

I do have a little bit of good news though. A friend is having a yard sale and she has again included me this year. She does multiples of these throughout the spring/summer/fall and graciously invited me when she heard me talking about how I was taking boxes of stuff to Goodwill. Her rational was that I could be getting it out of my house AND making money on it. So, I took her up on it last year. Now as I go through my clutter and find things that I don’t want to keep, I put a price tag on them and put them in a bin. Lots of bins made their way over to her home last night in preparation for the yard sale that starts tomorrow. The small people and I will be heading over to help work it and will also help with clean up. After all, it would be the right thing to do if I’m a good friend and I do like to be a good friend. Wish me luck that my junk sells so I don’t have to cart it home in the fall. Plus if it sells there will be room for more of the crap I’m sure to find as I continue de-cluttering this house.

In case you are wondering, we did pretty well last year and took part of it to do a day trip to the aquarium which has really made an impression on Small Blonde. To the point that he wants to go back. Also, more importantly, that he has now started to think about selling off his toys so he can get new ones with money that he earns from the yard sale. I think that isn’t too bad a lesson. If you want something, you have to work for it or make sacrifices so you can get it. He’s got more toys than he knows what to do with anyway so it isn’t really a hardship for him. It’s more of a hardship for me as I wonder whether we should be keeping those toys so that Little Red can have them to play with when he is of an age to do so. At this point, I am letting them go in favor of having Small Blonde learn how to make choices for himself and save his own money to buy something that he really wants. He is really pretty thoughtful about those kinds of things.

For example, when we last went to Disney we went for 10 days and I got him a $100 gift card figuring $10/day for trinkets that he finds.  He didn’t want trinkets or candy. Instead he bought himself a t-shirt and a stuffed Kermit the Frog and I can’t remember what else, but nothing he bought was a trinket and he took his time deciding what he really wanted to buy. I think that worked out pretty well.

Which makes me think that I surely have lots more junk at home that I can get packed up before the next yard sale. That should motivate me enough to get started again. I hope. I will probably spend the day at the yard sale tomorrow pining for time to be at home to do some things there, but that will have to wait for the weekend. Instead I’ll have to content myself with getting a load of laundry done a day and remember that progress is progress no matter how small it really is.

I guess I really did turn this into a little bit of a kid blog, so sorry about that.  I hope you are finding more motivation than I am right now.  I’m jealous if you are, but I know I will be finding mine again shortly.

This entry was posted in house cleaning, Uncategorized, Vacationing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

