The one where I admit my biggest obsession.

Well, I’m still plugging along with at least 15 minutes of walking and making progress on this week’s room.  Much to my surprise the living room has also stayed fairly neat needing only a couple of minutes of straightening to keep it that way. I’m fairly impressed that things are working.  Of course it’s only been a couple of days, but I’ll take victory wherever I can get it.

Since I only have a couple of days left, it’s time to pick the next room.  Even if I don’t finish in the bathroom, I’m still going to move on to the next room.  I’m sure you are wondering why not stay there until it’s finished?  Well, I’ll tell you.  It’s back to the Flylady principles.  Even though I’m not totally following, I find a lot of inspiration there.  What I like best is that it has reasonable expectations.  We’re not looking for magazine photograph ready, just comfortable living and company ready.  So, to that end, there is a rotation of zones with Flylady.  If you get done in there, great.  If not, you still move on to the next zone and know that you will return to the previous zone.  I’m setting myself up to rotate the rooms of the downstairs.  Living room is completed.  Bathroom is where I am now and next is either the dining room or the parlor and I’ll leave the kitchen/pantry for last. Mainly because it really does need a complete overhaul as my cabinets are full of things that we never use and could really go in the yard sale.  I’ll have to have my dear hubby help me out on that because he has a longer reach.  There are some closets to take into consideration as well.  Hopefully I’ll be able to get the bathroom finished and I’ll make the decision on where to go next on Monday.

Based on the title of this post you are probably thinking that this obsession I’ve mentioned is with getting my home cleaned and organized.  I would like to say that is true, but really my obsession is with all things Disney.  I would love to say that I know everything there is to know about Disney, but that wouldn’t be true.  It would be true to say that we have made numerous trips and I am raising these two boys to have a love for Disney World and the development of a strong imagination.  So far, that is going pretty well.  Small blonde has made four trips there and little red will be making his first trip for his first birthday.  Yes, I know he will grow up and not remember anything.  So why “waste” the money?  Because it’s for me (and small blonde who does remember his trips and talks about them and loves to look at the pictures).  That and I will have good memories and pictures to tell him about as he grows.  I mean how fun is it to go back and look at vacation pictures from earlier in our lives?  We might not remember those trips but we still look back fondly at how our parents are acting goofy in the photos and how they took the time with us when we were small.

Even though we won’t be heading back to The World until next year, I have already started planning with small blonde by my side.  He has put in his requests for those things that he likes (rides he wants to try) and where he wants to stay (Animal Kingdom Lodge – Jambo House  which Mommy is all for!) and places he likes to eat (or not eat, T Rex was too loud but character meals are all the rage for him).  This also means that we get to break out the planning DVD (which is totally free from Disney if you are interested in going and would like a nice look at the resorts and parks) and cuddle on the couch with some popcorn and talk about all those things that we like (or don’t like) and laugh.  I wouldn’t trade that kind of cuddle time for anything.  Little red is too small for that kind of thing right now, but I look forward (much to my husband’s chagrin) to doing the same thing with both of my boys where we can share memories and connect with each other.

Yeah, I do love Disney World.  I love all the planning that goes into the vacation.  Believe me, if you are going you are going to want to do some planning.  One year we took pedometers and we were walking anywhere from 8 – 12 miles per day.  That is a lot of ground to cover without any kind of plan.  That is not to say that you need to plan out every single minute of the day, but you should have some idea of what you are getting into.  If you have not been and are planning to go it can be very overwhelming.  I highly recommend starting your plans a year in advance.  By that I mean get the planning video, talk to people who have gone, and pick up a book or two (we love The Unofficial Guide to Disney World).  There are also lots of websites that have pictures and trip reports that you can peruse to get a clear picture of what may work best for your family.  For example, some families like to head back to their room for naps.  We are more commando and small blonde sleeps in his stroller.  That works for us, but may not work for everyone.

Alright, I better get some time in the bathroom if I have any hope of getting it finished.  Maybe I’ll even put on some Disney music to feed my obsession.

I hope you are making progress on your goals too!

This entry was posted in house cleaning, Vacationing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment