Time to make a fresh start.

I’m not sure if anyone really reads this – mainly I do it for myself so I’m not bothered if no one does read it.  Mainly I want to keep myself motivated as I have a LOT of work to do.  If you are reading, I’m sure that you need may need to do some work as well.  Mainly I’m talking about organizing my life – specifically cleaning my home and purging excess weight.

So, since we’ve started a new year I need to start finding a way to achieve my goals.  The trick is how to go about doing it.  Or rather, how to go about doing it successfully.  To that end, I’m doing my best to start some new habits.  I say habits because if I don’t form a new habit I won’t have the structure in place to continue keeping things the way I want them and things will go back to the way they are right now and faster than I would think possible.

New habit number 1, starting an exercise regimen.  I’m happy to say that for two days in a row I’ve managed to walk for 15 minutes.  I know it doesn’t sound like a whole lot, but about 7 weeks ago small blonde became a big brother to smaller blonde although he looks like he might be little red.  We’ll just have to wait a while longer to see for certain.  I figure if I can start by taking 15 minutes a day to walk once or even twice a day I will at least be starting a new better habit and I can always change my activity to something more intensive like the elliptical or light jogging.  Hey, we have to start somewhere right?  At least I’m making the effort.

New habit number 2, means starting on the whole house clean-up issue.  Yeah, I’ve been down this road before.  Many times actually.  I do love Flylady like I’ve mentioned before, but I’m having a hard time getting into those routines.  There is one part that I really do like and that is you can do anything for 15 minutes (even exercise!).  So, I’ve started using those 15 minutes of walking in the house to also do some picking up/purging/moving.  Last week’s goal was to clear of all the flat surfaces in the living room.  I even succeeded at reaching that goal!  I know, amazing right?  You really can do anything for 15 minutes. Even though I am picking up/purging/moving and calling it exercise my feet never stop moving.  That means even when I’m standing still I’m walking in place, or if I’ve reached a point where I need to think a minute I pace.  Constant movement and then I count it toward my exercise.

Now the trick is to not sit back on my heels but to keep going and setting small attainable goals so I feel like I really am succeeding.  For this week I have set a goal of clearing up the downstairs bathroom.  There is lots to be done in there, but 15 minutes at a time and I’m sure I’ll be able to get it licked and stay on track.  I’m thinking I’ll start with the dressing table.  I have cleared off most of it, but it has become a home for everything that needs a home.  I’ll save to closet part of the bathroom for another week as it will require emptying everything out and purging expired medications and finding new homes for things that have been stuck in there because they have no other home.  Aren’t closets great?  Sometimes we really manage to hide quite a bit in there.

By doing one thing at a time and starting with attainable goals, I’m hoping that I’ll be able to develop some new habits and make those changes that I need to make.  I will still need to work (or nag) the other members of the household to put their things away when they are finished, but hopefully they will develop some new habits along with me.  Whether they want to or not!

This entry was posted in house cleaning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

