A little more lightening of the load.

I have to think that the house will breathe easier when we finally get all of our junk out of it.  Yesterday and today I did some more to help with that – tackling paperwork.  You know how it is, you just keep it all.  All the bills, all the bank statements, all the check stubs, everything.  Do we really need all of it?  Not really.  Of course there are lots of good things to keep like bank statements and tax returns, but not necessarily all the bills you’ve paid over the last, oh say 15 years.  Yep, that was us.    I did some homework to see what we really need to keep (compliments of the IRS website).  So, we now have 3 boxes of paperwork to go out the door for shredding and everything is now filed in folders for their appropriate year.  Yea!  I have one more place to clear out for paperwork, but I know that will not take me over long and I can tackle that this evening or tomorrow afternoon.  It’s nice to see how much we really didn’t need – and of course there was a lot that we had just thrown in and I’m sure the envelopes alone would fill up one of the boxes.

So, one more project tackled and time to look around to see what I want to work on next.  So far we are back to getting one load of laundry done a day and that helps keep things from really piling up plus I don’t have to waste an entire weekend washing and folding and putting away.  I can do just a load at a time and keep up with all of it.  That’s a nice feeling.

So, paperwork in order and laundry caught up.  What will the next project be?  I’m not sure yet.  I know there are a lot more to tackle and I have to remind myself that it didn’t get this way overnight so I can’t expect it to resolve overnight either.  I just have to keep my cool and not get overwhelmed by the sheer size of the project.  I think I can do that.  At least that’s all I can try to do for right now.  Looking forward to better habits to be established for this year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

