Bringing back the dinner table

So we made a move a couple of weeks ago to clear off one of our hot spots – the dining room table. I’m not quite sure what it is about that, but for some reason everything that comes through the house stops to rest at the dining room table. Some times things even seem to breed there as the pile grows and I’m never sure by what means it has grown. Finally we did get it cleared off. It’s not perfect (translation: there are still a few things still there that need to find their forever homes) but it is completely usable which is the important part.

Now that we have a cleared off dining room table I have decided that it would be good for us as a family to actually use the dining room table as a dining room table rather than a collector of odd items that need to be put away.  For the last two weeks we have been sitting down to eat dinner as a family.  The best part is that my 3-year old son has become the adventuresome eater he was before.  True, he got in the rut of chicken/peanut butter/hot dogs but now that we are sitting down to eat as a family he is eating the same meal that we are with minimal fighting and has even tried things he hasn’t tried before.  It has been truly amazing.

So now I’m stuck.  I know it doesn’t should like I should be but I am.  I don’t think that I’ll be stuck for long though.  I’m stuck because along with this new habit of having dinner together means that we need to be smarter menu planners and grocery shoppers.  We are fortunate to have at least 5 different grocery store chains in our area.  Of course that means that every week there are numerous grocery store fliers to sort through to see who has the best sales.  This is important because we became a one income family last year and budget watching is important.  I do have one burning question though, why does it seem that with so many different grocery stores no one has ground beef on sale.  I can find buy one get one free chicken but nothing for ground beef.

Anyway.  My dear husband came to the stunning realization at dinner tonight that home cooking really is cheaper even with the convenience fast food offers.  He proceeded to go on to tell me that while making the grocery list it would be helpful if we did it together.  I did take the opportunity to point out to him that I had mentioned both previously but that I was glad he was coming around to this realization.  The bonus being that now he will help me get my head around the grocery fliers and making a better grocery list.  I am really looking forward to that.

Sometimes change really is good.  I’m looking forward to seeing what comes next.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

